Board of Education


The Board of Education is a group of seven elected citizens whose job it is to ensure the highest quality education for the children enrolled in our public schools. The Board oversees educational quality by establishing policies for the school administration to follow.

The Board of Education is responsible to both the State of Connecticut and the Town of Sprague. It must comply with state laws, regulations, and guidelines in its own operations and it must make sure the schools do the same. It is accountable to the community whose taxpayers are the primary sources of school funding and whose interests it represents.

The rewards of serving on the Board are great. Members bring unique experiences and beliefs to the table. What they do can, and does, influence the lives of children.


Board of Education Members:
Chairman of the Board
     - Megin Sechen
Vice Chairman
     - Corinne Topalis
     - Victoria Wold
Other Members
     - Jenny Gauthier
     - Geraldine Meadows
     - Maureen Trudelle
     - Michelle Walton

  Thank you to all of our Board

of Education members for

devoting their time to supporting
public education and serving
our school.

Subcommittee Members:
There are three standing committees.  All policies and operating procedures developed by any standing committee must be approved by the full Board of Education before implementation.
     - Vicky Wold, Chairman of Policy Subcommittee
     - Jenny Gauther
     - Maureen Trudelle
     - Maureen Trudelle, Chairman of Transportation Subcommittee
     - Jenny Gauthier
     - Gerry Meadows
     - Megin Sechen, Chairman of Negotiations Subcommittee
     - Corinne Topalis
     - Corinne Topalis, Chairman of Facilities Subcommittee
     - Gerry Meadows
     - Michelle Walton
     - Megin Sechen, Chairman of Curriculum Subcommittee
     - Vicky Wold
     - Corinne Topalis
     - Vicky Wold, Chairman of Curriculum Subcommittee
     - Corinne Topalis
     - Michelle Walton
Welcome Mr. David B. Erwin!

Please join the Sprague Board of Education in welcoming
Mr. David B. Erwin
as the Superintendent of Schools in the Sprague School District.

Welcome to our wonderful school community! 


David Erwin

The Board of Education began the search process for a new superintendent in July and candidates were interviewed by a broad-based committee of individuals from the school and the community. 

The Board also held interviews with the final candidates to make certain that the person selected fit the profile of what the community desired.  Michael Smith, Chair of the Sprague Board of Education, commented that this was the missing piece to make our Administrative team complete, “Mr. Erwin brings a wealth of knowledge and experience and will be integral in moving Sayles School forward into the future.”

Mr. Erwin, a Waterbury, CT native began his career in 1975 as a language arts teacher in the Waterbury Public Schools. He has also been a teacher in the Region 15 school district (Middlebury/Southbury). He has served in numerous roles during his 43 year career in education. In addition to his teaching, he has been a principal in both the Madison Public Schools and the Trumbull Public Schools. He served as both assistant superintendent and superintendent in the Clinton Public Schools and was superintendent in the Montville Public Schools for a decade from 1999-2009. During this time, Sprague developed a partnership with Montville for students interested to attend Montville High School. Currently he is the superintendent of schools in the Berlin Public Schools.

Since 1994 Mr. Erwin has been an adjunct professor in the department of educational leadership at Sacred Heart University, both at the Griswold campus as well as at the main campus in Fairfield. Mr. Erwin is also an adjunct professor at the University of Connecticut where he teaches in the TCPCG (Teacher Certification Program for College Graduates) Program. Mr. Erwin was selected as the University of Connecticut Neag School of Education Outstanding School Superintendent in 2005 and was chosen as the Connecticut School Superintendent of the Year in 2006. Mr. Erwin also serves on the Board of Directors of NESDEC.

When reached for comment Erwin said, “I was extremely impressed with the interview process. It was most evident to me that people are very proud of the school and want it to get even better. I am very thankful for the confidence the Board and the committee had in selecting me. I am excited about starting in January and look forward to working with students, staff, parents, the Board and the community.”

Erwin resides in Middlebury, CT with his wife Linda, a retired educator. They are parents of three adult sons: Brian, Chris and Ben and have three grandchildren:  Bryce, Alexander and Rose.

< Click here for a printable copy >

Regular Meeting Schedule / Minutes / Agendas:
All meetings are held at 6:00 P.M. in the Sayles School Media Center unless otherwise posted.

Board of Education meeting minutes and agendas are available from the links below.


The school district will benefit from communication between the Board of Education and the public. There is an opportunity for public comment at each meeting.

Your attendance and participation at the Board of Education meetings is encouraged, welcomed and appreciated.


Select below for board meeting dates, agendas and minutes

For prior year postings, < click here >
Board of Education Goals:

Sprague Board of Education Goals

Sprague Public Schools will provide a world class education where academic excellence is celebrated.

Students, staff, parents and community members will promote an environment where all school community members feel valued, accepted, secure and connected.

Sprague Public Schools will emphasize collaboration, creativity and innovation.

Sprague Public Schools will continue to efficiently and effectively utilize resources. 

Sprague Public Schools will recruit, hire, retain and support highly effective staff.

Approved: 08/12/15
Nondiscrimination Statement:

The Connecticut State Department of Education is committed to a policy of equal opportunity/affirmative action for all qualified persons. The Connecticut State Department of Education does not discriminate in any employment practice, education program, or educational activity on the basis of race, color, religious creed, sex, age, national origin, ancestry, marital status, sexual orientation, gender identity or expression, disability (including, but not limited to, intellectual disability, past or present history of mental disorder, physical disability or learning disability), genetic information, or any other basis prohibited by Connecticut state and/or federal nondiscrimination laws. The Connecticut State Department of Education does not unlawfully discriminate in employment and licensing against qualified persons with a prior criminal conviction. 

Inquiries regarding the Connecticut State Department of Education’s nondiscrimination policies should be directed to: 

Levy Gillespie
Equal Employment Opportunity Director/Americans with Disabilities Act Coordinator
Connecticut State Department of Education
450 Columbus Boulevard
Suite 607
Hartford, CT 06103
Phone:  860-807-2071


If You Have A Concern:
A chain of command exists and should be followed when asking school related questions or voicing concerns. Simply, start with the person closest to the problem.
For example, a parent should:
(1) Contact the child’s teacher for a classroom problem, then
(2) Approach the school principal, then
(3) Contact the Superintendent of Schools, and
(4) End with the Board if the matter is not resolved satisfactorily.
For purposes of clarity, it is requested that you put your concerns in writing.

UPDATED:  Wednesday, February 20, 2019 02:31:57 PM